甚麼是消化道內視鏡?

消化道內視鏡用以檢查包括食道、胃、十二指腸及大腸的內壁。檢查中使用軟管狀的內視鏡,其末端裝有鏡頭和照明燈,可以精確檢查消化道的內層,以作診斷和治療消化道疾病。消化道內視鏡檢查一般來說十分安全,而且帶來的裨益遠高於其少量風險。

甚麼人要做上消化道內視鏡?

上消化道內視鏡﹝簡稱胃鏡﹞是指對食道、胃及十二指腸進行內視鏡檢查,通常需時10-15分鐘。

 

如果有下列情況便應該考慮進行上消化道內視鏡檢查,包括:

  • 貧血或懷疑消化道出血

  • 胃痛、消化不良或無法解釋的腹痛

  • 胃灼熱

  • 吞嚥困難

  • 意外減肥

  • 懷疑患有食道癌或胃癌的病人

甚麼人要做大腸內視鏡檢查?

大腸內視鏡檢查﹝簡稱大腸鏡﹞是指以內視鏡檢查整條大腸和迴腸末端,通常需時30-60分鐘。

凡年齡在50-75歲且身體健康的人仕,都建議接受大腸鏡檢查作為結大腸癌的篩查測試。如果您曾經有大腸瘜肉,你應該定期接受大腸鏡檢查去移除新的瘜肉,這樣可以減低你患大腸癌的風險。

另外,如果你有慢性腹痛、直腸出血、慢性便秘、慢性腹瀉或其他腸道問題,亦要考慮進行大腸鏡檢查。

篩查、及早診斷和治療的重要性

大腸癌泛指在發生在大腸或直腸的癌症,不論男女,都是香港最常見的癌症之一。

 

大部份的大腸癌其實都可以通過篩查去預防。香港特別行政區政府癌症預防及普查專家工作小組(CEWG)建議,大腸癌篩查應從50歲開始。早期的大腸癌大多沒有明顯症狀,通過大腸鏡檢查並作出診斷,可以及早作出有效治療。另外,大腸瘜肉可以是大腸癌的前期病變,透過定期大腸鏡檢查去發現並切除瘜肉,可以防止其演變為大腸癌。

關於日間手術

在過去的幾十年,日間手術在全球醫療界都越見普及。日間手術已證明能夠提升服務的質量,通過集中日常較低風險的醫療程序,可以方便病人在醫院外安全地進行手術。

香港的公立醫院採用這一概念已有二十多年,而友安醫療中心的成立亦是緊隨這本地和全球的趨勢。隨著香港的《私營醫療機構條例》(第633章)從2018年起涵蓋私營日間手術中心,友安醫療中心將會是首批嚴格按照最新條例成立的私營日間手術中心。

 

中心初期提供上消化道內視鏡檢查及大腸內視鏡檢查,期後服務將逐步涵蓋到其他手術和專科。

健康資訊

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

© 2019  友安醫療腸胃及專科中心

電話: 21168029

地址: 香港北角電氣道181-183 號友邦廣場32樓 3201-04A室

What is GI endoscopy?

Gastrointestinal (GI) endoscopy refers to the endoscopic examination of the digestive tract. This examination is performed using a flexible tube called an endoscope. The tip of the endoscope is equipped with a camera and light for accurate examination of the lining of the digestive tract. This allows diagnosis as well as treatment of GI diseases. It is generally considered a very safe and straightforward examination. For most people its benefits outweigh its harms.

OGD: Who Needs it?

Oesophagogastroscopy (OGD) refers to the endoscopic examination of the oesophagus, stomach and duodenum. It usually takes around 10 to 15 minutes.

An OGD may be advised for a number of reasons, including:

  • Anaemia or suspected gastrointestinal bleeding

  • Stomach ache, indigestion or unexplained abdominal pain

  • Heartburn

  • Difficulty in swallowing

  • Unintentional weight loss

  • Patients with suspected oesophagus or stomach cancer

Colonoscopy: Who Needs It?

Colonoscopy refers to the endoscopic examination of distal small bowel and the entire colon. It typically takes around 30-60 minutes.

For healthy individuals aged between 50-75, colonoscopy may be recommended as a screening test for colorectal cancer. If you have had polyps before, an interval colonoscopy can help look for and remove any new polyps. This can reduce your risk of colon cancer.

Colonoscopy may also be advised to explore possible causes of abdominal pain, rectal bleeding, chronic constipation, chronic diarrhoea and other intestinal problems.

Importance of Screening, Early Diagnosis and Early Treatment

Colorectal cancer is cancer that originates from the colon or the rectum. It is one of the commonest cancer among men and women in Hong Kong.

Many colorectal cancers can be prevented through regular screening. When precancerous polyps are found during colonoscopy, they can be removed before they develop into cancer. When early stages of colorectal cancer which usually present no symptoms are found during colonoscopy, they are highly treatable. The Hong Kong SAR Government’s Cancer Expert Working Group on Cancer Prevention and Screening (CEWG) recommends that colorectal cancer screening should start at age 50.

About Ambulatory Day Surgery

Over the past decades, the health care industry has witnessed a transformation from hospital based to ambulatory day surgeries worldwide. Ambulatory surgeries have demonstrated an exceptional ability to improve quality and service. By focusing on routine, lower-risk procedures, patients can benefit from the convenience of having surgeries performed safely outside the hospital setting.

The public sector in Hong Kong has adopted this concept for more than twenty years. The Private Healthcare Facilities Ordinance (Cap 633) in Hong Kong regulates private healthcare facilities from hospitals to clinics, and covers day procedure centres from 2018 onwards. AUMC was founded according to this local and worldwide trend, in strict accordance to the law in Hong Kong.

 

The scope of service starts with the endoscopy of the gastrointestinal tract. It would gradually be expanded to cover other procedures and specialties.

Health Information

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

© 2019 by Aiaunion GI & Specialists Centre

Tel: 21168029

Address:3201-04A, 32/F, AIA Tower, 183 Electric Road, North Point, Hong Kong